Español  |   繁體中文  |   한국어  |   বাংলা  |   Русский  
Share Translate This Page Text Size Small Medium Large



常見問題

選民指南

紐約市競選財務局僅在紐約市級公職選舉年度編輯出版一本關於初選和普選的“選民指南”。該指南會被寄往紐約市每一戶有登記選民的家庭。該指南會在初選之前寄出。如果您沒有收到,可致電紐約市競選財務局(212)306-7100索取。此外,請留意您所在社區所舉辦的候選人討論會,辯論以及新聞媒體所報導的其它關於聯邦級和州級的選情報告。

“甚麼人可以投票?” 

  • 您必須是美國公民
  • 您必須在您想參與投票的普選、初選或其他選舉時,年滿十八歲。

註:本網站所提供的選民登記表僅供紐約市(含曼哈頓、布魯克林、皇后區、布朗士及史泰登島)居民使用。請確認在截止期限前填妥,並將該選民登記申請表寄還選舉局。

返回首頁

“我可以在哪裏領取一份通過郵寄辦理選民登記的申請表?”

請將您的通訊地址通過電子郵件發往選舉局的電子郵箱
vote@boe.nyc.ny.us(請在電子郵件的標題行註明您所居住的區),或致電1-866-VOTE-NYC或1-212-VOTE-NYC即1-212-868-3692索取一份選民登記表格(紐約市以外的選民,請向您的住址所屬的選舉局郡辦公室洽詢)。您也可以到您當地的郵局、公共圖書館或車輛管理局索取。需要更多相關資訊,請參閱選舉局的選民登記網頁。您可以自行下載選民登記表格於填寫後將表格寄回。
http://www.vote.nyc.ny.us/downloads/pdf/forms/boe/voterreg/voterregchinese.pdf

返回首頁

“我能否親自辦理選民登記?”

可以。許多公立機關目前都提供選民登記表並協助辦理選民登記。您也可以在星期一至星期五, 自早上九點至下午五點親臨 選舉局的行政區辦公室 之一辦理選民登記。

如果您在遞交選民登記申請後四至六個星期之內沒有收到選舉局寄發的選民證,您最好致電紐約市選舉局電話諮詢中心的免費電話1-866-VOTE-NYC或212-VOTE-NYC,以查詢您的選民登記申請是否已經被受理。紐約市以外,請向地址所屬當地選舉局查詢。

返回首頁

如果我在紐約市上學,而住在外州,該如何在某次選舉中投票?” 

如果您住在外州,而在紐約市上學,並希望成為紐約市的登記選民,必須根據紐約市的住址填寫一份選民登記表。該選民申請將被一視同仁地受理。

返回首頁

“我是否需要每年辦理選民登記?” 

不需要。選民登記作業一勞永逸,除非:

  • 您被從系統裏刪除(處於靜態的選民在接連兩次聯邦選舉中沒有投選的第五年會被從選民登記名冊中刪除。)
  • 被判重罪。
  • 被法院裁定心智不健全。

變更姓名、住址或黨籍需要填寫並呈遞一份新的選民登記表。如果您搬遷,您應當盡快通知紐約市選舉局,並重新辦理選民登記。

當接到某登記選民在紐約市内變更地址的通知,紐約市選舉局會據此更新選民記錄。或當接到某登記選民所投的寫有其新住址及變更政黨的宣誓選票,選舉局也會據此更新選民紀錄。

如果紐約市選舉局在某次初選、補選或普選前至少二十天收到此類通知,就必須在該次選舉前完成更新您的地址。

返回首頁

“我如何知道去何處投票?”

您應該會在每年八月期間收到紐約市選舉局寄發的一份通知,告知您的投票地點。該通知並將註明您在選舉日投票時您所屬的選區/州議會(ED/AD)選區。否則,請將您的通訊地址通過電子郵件發到  vote@boe.nyc.ny.us(請在電子郵件的標題行註明您所居住的區)。

點擊此處使用網頁上的投票處搜尋工具
nyc.pollsitelocator.com/zho/search

返回首頁

“候選人的名字是怎樣登上選票的?”

在紐約州,大多數候選人通過提交收集有若干簽名的請願書使自己符合登上選票的資格。簽名數量的要求不一,取決於候選人所競選的職位以及候選人是否尋求某政黨的提名或在選票上以獨立候選人的資格參加競選。某些候選人是通過政治委員會和黨員大會而被提名。

返回首頁

“什麼人可以在請願書(petition)上簽名?”

唯有在某一適當地區加入了某政黨的黨員有資格為尋求做為該黨提名的候選人簽名。然而,任何居住在其相關選區的登記選民,只要尚未為另外某個競選同一職位的候選人簽名,都有資格為在該選區尋求做為獨立候選人而參加普選的某候選人簽名。

返回首頁

“我是否應該為在請願書上簽名而有顧慮?”

絕沒必要!在請願書上簽名是參與選舉過程的一個重要方式。

返回首頁

“何謂初選?”

初選是在紐約州各法定的政黨內部舉行的選舉。初選於普選之前舉行,從而給各黨黨員們推舉各自政黨的提名候選人的機會,以代表各黨參加競選公職或黨內職務。但是,如果沒有競爭對象,就不會有初選。

返回首頁

“為什麼我應該加入一個政黨?”

有黨籍的登記選民可以通過簽名請願書和參與初選來為候選人提名。他們比只能參與普選的無黨籍的登記選民有更大的政治影響力。

此外,在十一月普選時,您沒有必須投選本黨候選人的義務,您可以投選任何政黨的任何候選人。

返回首頁

“我如何加入某個政黨?”

無論是在辦理選民登記時、抑或日後重新登記時,僅需在選民登記表上註明您的政黨選擇,或者如果您曾在一張無效的宣誓選票上有做此表示,便也自願加入了該政黨。

返回首頁

“如果我在選舉日不能參加投票,怎麼辦?”

如果您需要在初選、普選、或補選日外出或因健康原因不能前往投票處,您可以採用 缺席選票 投票。
http://vote.nyc.ny.us/downloads/pdf/forms/boe/absenteevoting/abschinese.pdf

返回首頁

“我如何領取一張缺席選票?”

缺席選票申請表可以透過給選舉局寫信、致電 1-866-VOTE-NYC 或 212-VOTE-NYC、或發電子郵件給vote@boe.nyc.ny.us(請在標題行註明您所居住的區)來申請或參閱缺席選票網頁。 您可在網頁上下載缺席選票申請表之中文表格
http://vote.nyc.ny.us/downloads/pdf/forms/boe/absenteevoting/abschinese.pdf

返回首頁

“如何使用紙製選票?”

請遵照印在選票上的使用說明。紙製選票是通過機器掃描來統計,因此必需正確填寫,才能使您的投選被統計入内。只需塗黑您的選擇旁邊或上方的橢圓。切勿填寫任何其它標記。請用藍色或黑色墨水筆塗寫橢圓,切勿在選票的任何其它地方留下任何筆跡。如果您打算投選一位姓名不在選票上的候選人,您可以在與有關職稱相對應的“寫入未列名候選人”的方框中填寫您所要投選的候選人的姓名,並塗黑與之相對應的橢圓。若有供表決的候選提案列在選票的背頁,請塗黑與“是”或“否”相對應的橢圓來投選。

返回首頁

“本人行動不便,應到何處投票?”

幾乎所有投票處都能讓使用輪椅的行動不便人士方便進出。如果您所屬的投票處不是如此的話,您可以要求將您的選民紀錄轉往附近一個和您所屬的選區使用同樣選票而且便於使用輪椅的行動不便人士進出的投票處。您也可採用缺席選票投票。如果您的疾病或殘疾是長期的或永久的,您可以申請一份永久性的缺席選票,從而在每次初選,補選和普選前收到選舉局自動寄給您的缺席選票。 點擊此處

返回首頁

“我前往投票時需要攜帶甚麼?”

2002年頒佈的“幫助美國投票法案”(HAVA)要求所有新選民在選民登記表上填寫或提交額外的身份證明:如駕駛執照號碼、非駕照身份證、或社會安全號碼的最後四位數字。如果您在郵遞辦理選民登記時未提供駕照號碼或社會安全號碼的最後四位數字,也可以隨所呈遞的選民登記表附上下述文件之一的複印件:現時有效的有照片的身份證、最近的水電煤氣帳單、銀行月結單、政府支票或工資支票、或印有您的姓名和地址的政府文件。倘若新選民到參加選舉時,仍未提交上述任何一種形式的身份證明,該選民將不被允許使用投票處掃描機投票,但可以採用宣誓選票投票。該選民並不會因此而被剝奪投票權。

返回首頁

“抵達投票處時,該如何行事?”

進入投票處,您會見到一個或多個選區(ED)的工作檯。在您所屬的選區(ED)和州眾議會選區(AD)的工作檯,選務人員會要求您在按字母順序排列的選民名冊上根據您原始簽名複製的空格上方簽字。並發給您一張選票。前往私密填票亭,用黑色或藍色墨水筆填寫你的選票,然後拿到掃描機處。

返回首頁

“如果我不被允許投票,怎麼辦?”

如果您的姓名不在選民名冊上,請監票員確認您是在您住址所屬的正確選區(ED)和州眾議會選區(AD)的工作檯。或許是因為您的選民登記申請未及時在截止日期前為選舉局所收悉。或者,如果是初選,因為您沒有辦理黨籍登記。如果您堅信您具備參加選舉的資格,您仍然可以參加投票。僅需索取一份宣誓選票。選舉結束後,紐約市選舉局將核實您的選民紀錄。如果您確實具備投票資格並且是在正確的投票處,您的選票會被統計入內。否則,選舉局會寄通知給您,告訴您不具備參加選舉的資格,並隨信附上新的選民登記表,供參加將來選舉之用。

返回首頁

“掃描機如何操作?”

http://www.vote.nyc.ny.us/newway_ch/new_way.shtml

掃描機使用說明:

  • 將已填寫的選票拿到掃描機前。
  • 選擇您需要的語言。
  • 將選票送入掃描機。

填票機(BMD)使用說明:

  • 網頁上的填票機說明錄影帶
  • 填票機(BMD)向選民提供兩種填票方式:
  • 從屏幕上閱讀選票
  • 使用耳機聽讀選票
  • 指觸屏幕
  • 鍵盤(布雷爾式盲人點字)
  • 呼/吸氣輸入
  • 雙位按板/踏板輸入

在填票機處填好選票後,審閱您的選擇。如果您想更改投選内容,選擇您想改變的投選項目,重新投選。點擊 “下一步”,這將會帶您回到投選内容總結屏幕。

  • 填完選票後,點擊 “下一步”, 再點擊 “填寫選票” 來列印出您已填寫的選票。
  • 將列印出的選票拿到掃描機前。

返回首頁

“需要幫助,怎麼辦?”

如果您因殘疾或不能閱讀選票而需要幫助,聯邦選舉法允許您的一位朋友或親戚在私密投票亭內協助您投票。投票處的選務人員也可以協助您。

返回首頁

“會否因為辦理了選民登記,而被徵召參加陪審團?”

陪審員是從州納稅人名冊,註冊駕駛執照名冊以及登記選民名冊等多種渠道徵選。請勿僅僅因為試圖避免被徵召為陪審團而放棄行使投票權。只要您納稅或領有駕照,就有可能被徵召為陪審團。此外,參加陪審團是一種特權,它能使您維護所有美國公民有要經由陪審團審判的權利。

返回首頁

“有犯罪前科是否會影響行使投票權?”

您不能辦理選民登記或行使投票權,如果您被判為重罪犯且因為該重罪:

  • 目前正在被監禁;或
  • 正處於假釋期。

您可以辦理選民登記或行使投票權,如果您被判為重罪犯且因為該重罪:

  • 已被判緩刑;
  • 未被判監禁抑或監禁已被中止;
  • 已服完最高刑期;在此情況下,可重新辦理選民登記參加投票。
  • 曾被假釋,已獲釋放。在此情況下,可重新辦理選民登記參加投票。
  • 已被赦免。

返回首頁

“有被判輕罪前科是否影響我行使投票權?”

僅被判輕罪的罪犯,即使是在獄中,也可以辦理選民登記並行使投票權。

該規定不僅適用於紐約州法院的判決,也適用於其他州的法院或聯邦法院的判決。

有犯罪前科者在辦理選民登記及行使投票權時不必出示任何有關刑事紀錄的文件。

返回首頁



請輸入街道地址

Español  |   繁體中文  |   한국어  |   বাংলা  |   Русский  
Email Updates Share Translate This Page Text Size Small Medium Large

Sign up for email updates



Frequently Asked Questions

"Who Can Vote?"
"Where Can I Get A Mail Registration Application?"
"Can I Register In Person?"
"If I Am A Student In New York City And Have A Residence In Another State, How Can I Vote In An Election?"
"Do I Have To Register Every Year?"
"How Will I Know Where To Vote?"
"How Do Candidates Get On The Ballot?"
"Who Can Sign A Petition?"
"Should I Be Concerned About Signing A Petition?"
"What Is A Primary Election?"
"Why Should I Enroll In A Political Party?"
"How Do I Enroll In A Political Party?"
"What Happens If I Can't Vote On Election Day?"
"How Can I Get An Absentee Ballot?"
"How Do I Mark A Paper Ballot"
"I'm Disabled. Where Can I Vote?"
"What Do I Need When I Go To Vote?"
"What Do I Do When I Get To The Poll Site?"
"What If I'm Not Permitted To Vote?"
"How Does the Scanner Work?"
"Suppose I Need Help?"
"If I Register To Vote, Will I Be Called For Jury Duty?"
"Can A Felony Conviction Affect My Right To Vote?"
"Can A Misdemeanor Conviction Affect My Right to Vote?"

"Who Can Vote?"

  • Be a United State Citizen
  • Be 18 years old by December 31st of the year in which you file this form. (Note you must be 18 years old by the date of the General, Primary or other Election in which you want to vote.)

NOTE: The registration form on this website is ONLY for residents of New York City (Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, Bronx and Staten Island). Be sure to complete and return your registration application before the deadline.

back-to-top

"Where Can I Get A Mail Registration Application?"

E-mail your mailing address to vote@boe.nyc.ny.us (please put in the subject line the borough in which you reside) or call toll-free 1-866-VOTE-NYC (If out of New York City, call (212)-VOTE-NYC (868-3692) and ask to have an application sent to you. You may also pick one up at your local post office, library or motor vehicle office. Visit our registration page for more information. You can download the form and send it back to us postage paid.

back-to-top

"Can I Register In Person?"

Yes. Many public agencies are now providing voter registration forms and assistance. You can also register at any one of the borough Board of Elections offices Monday to Friday between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. If you don't get a registration card within 4 to 6 weeks of completing your application, you might want to call the Board of Elections in the City of New York Phone Bank toll-free at 1-866-VOTE-NYC or (212)-VOTE-NYC if out of New York City, to see if your application was processed.

back-to-top

"If I Am A Student In New York City And Have A Residence In Another State, How Can I Vote In An Election?

If you are a student in New York City, but have a residence in another state and wish to register in New York, you must fill out a registration form indicating your New York City residency. That registration will be treated as any other registration. The new registration will cancel out the registration in the other state.

back-to-top

"Do I Have To Register Every Year?"

No. Once you register, you are permanently registered unless:

  • You are purged from the system (A voter in inactive status who dose not vote in two consecutive Federal Elections is in the fifth year, removed from the list of register. The voter must re-register in order to vote.)
  • Convicted of a Felony.
  • Adjudged mentally incompetent by a court.
  • See page 5.

Name, address or party enrollment changes can be made by submitting a new registration application. If you move, you should notify the Board of Elections in the City of New York as soon as possible, by re-registering. The Board of Elections in the City of New York will transfer the registration and enrollment of any voter for whom it receives a notice of change of address to another address in New York City, or for any voter who casts a ballot in an affidavit ballot envelope which sets forth the new address, process change of enrollment form invalid affidavit ballot envelope. If the Board of Elections in the City of New York receives notice at least twenty days before a Primary, Special or General election, it must complete the change of address before the election.

back-to-top

"How Will I Know Where To Vote?"

You should receive a notice from the Board of Elections in the City of New York some time in August, telling you where to vote. It will also indicate your Election District / Assembly District number which you need to know on Election Day. Or, you can e-mail your complete home address to vote@boe.nyc.ny.us (please put in the subject line the borough in which you reside).

Click here to use The Online Poll Site Address Locator

back-to-top

"How Do Candidates Get On The Ballot?"

In New York State, most candidates get on the ballot by filing a petition containing a specified number of signatures. The required amount varies, depending on the office sought and whether the candidate is seeking a party nomination or a spot on the ballot as an independent. Some candidates are nominated by political committees and conventions.

back-to-top

"Who Can Sign A Petition?"

Only enrolled party members living within the appropriate district may sign petitions for candidates who seek their party's nomination. However, any registered voter living within the appropriate district may sign a petition for a candidate seeking to run as an independent in the general election as long as s/he has not already signed on behalf of another candidate.

back-to-top

"Should I Be Concerned About Signing A Petition?"

Absolutely not! Signing a petition is an important way to participate in the electoral process.

back-to-top

"What Is A Primary Election?"

A primary is an election that may take place within each of New York State's official political parties. It precedes the general election and provides enrolled political party members the opportunity to nominate their party's candidates for elected office as well as to elect various party officials. However, if there is no contest, there is no primary.

back-to-top

"Why Should I Enroll In A Political Party?"

Enrolled party members who help nominate candidates by signing petitions and voting in the primary have greater political clout than non-enrolled voters who can vote only in the general election. Moreover, you are not obligated to vote for your party's candidate in the general election. In November, you may vote for any candidate from any party.

back-to-top

"How Do I Enroll In A Political Party?"

You voluntarily enroll in any party by indicating your preference on the voter registration form either at the same time that you register to vote or by re-registering or if you have indicated such a change on an Invalid Affidavit Ballot

back-to-top

"What Happens If I Can't Vote On Election Day?"

If you will be out of town on Primary, General, Special Election day or are physically unable to go to the polls, you can vote by absentee ballot.

back-to-top

"How Can I Get An Absentee Ballot?"

Absentee ballot applications can be obtained by writing the Board of Elections, calling toll-free 1-866-VOTE-NYC or (212) VOTE-NYC, e-mailing your request to vote@boe.nyc.ny.us (please put in the subject line the borough in which you reside) or visit our absentee page. You can download this form from our website.

back-to-top

"How Do I Mark A Paper Ballot"

Be sure to follow the directions that are printed on a paper ballot. Paper ballots are canvassed by scanning them with machines therefore you must mark them correctly for your vote to count. Just fill in the oval next to or above your choice. Fill in the ovals with a pen with blue or black ink. Do not make any marks anywhere on the ballot, if you want to vote for someone whose name does not appear on the ballot you may write his or her name in the write-in box and fill in the oval on that write-in box. If there are propositions up for vote, you will find them on the back of the ballot. Mark your vote by filling in the oval next to either "yes" or "no".

back-to-top

"I'm Disabled. Where Can I Vote?"

Almost all poll sites are now accessible to the handicapped. All will be by January 1, 2013. If yours is not, you may ask to have your records transferred to a nearby accessible poll site where the ballot will be the same as in your election district. You may also vote by absentee ballot. If you have a long-term or permanent illness or disability, you can apply for a permanent absentee ballot and you will automatically receive one before each primary, special and general election. Click Here for information.

back-to-top

"What Do I Need When I Go To Vote?"

The "Help America Vote Act" (HAVA) which was enacted into law in 2002, requires all first time voters to provide additional identification either on or with the voter registration application, i.e., the driver's license number, non- driver’s ID number or the last four digits of your social security number. If you do not provide your driver’s license number or the last four digits of your social security number at the time you submit your registration form by mail, you can include a copy of any of the following documentation with your registration application: Current and Valid Photo ID; Current Utility Bill; Bank Statement; Government Check or Paycheck; Government Document that shows Name and Address. If the voter has not provided any of the acceptable forms of identification by the time they vote in an Election, the voter will not be allowed to vote on the poll site scanner, but will be able to vote by affidavit ballot. The voter will not be denied the right to vote.

back-to-top

"What Do I Do When I Get To The Poll Site?"

When you enter poll site, you'll see tables for one or more election districts (E.D.). At the table for your E.D. you will be asked to sign above to a facsimile of your original signature on an alphabetical computerized poll-list. You will than be given a paper ballot and be directed to a privacy booth mark you ballot and take it to the scanner.

back-to-top

"What If I'm Not Permitted To Vote?"

If you are not on the poll-list, ask the inspector to verify that you are at the proper table for your address. Make sure that it is your correct Election and Assembly District. It may be because your registration form was not received by the deadline or, for a primary, because you aren't enrolled in a party. If you believe that you are eligible, you can still vote. Ask for an affidavit ballot. After the election, the Board of Elections in the City of New York will check its records and your vote will be counted if you are indeed eligible to vote and are at the correct poll site. If not, you will receive a notice that you are not eligible, along with a registration application for future elections.

back-to-top

"How Does the Scanner Work?"

http://www.votethenewwayny.com/en/default.aspx

INSTRUCTION PERTAINING TO SCANNING MACHINE

  • Take your ballot to the scanning area
  • Select the language of your choice
  • Insert ballot

INSTRUCTION PERTAINING TO BMD- BALLOT MARKING DEVICE

  • Video on BMD
  • The BMD provides two ways for voters to access the ballot:
    • See the ballot on the screen
    • Listen to the ballot through audio headphones
  • Touch screen
  • Key paid ( Braille )
  • Sip & Puff Device
  • Rocker Paddle

After completing your ballot, review you selection. To change a selection, select contest or issues you would like to change and reselect the proper choice. Select "Next" to return to the summary screen

  • When finished select "next" select "mark ballot" to print you mark ballot
  • Take your printed ballot to the scanner area

back-to-top

"Suppose I Need Help?"

If you need some help because you are disabled or cannot read the ballot, federal law allows you to have a friend or relative assist you in the privacy booth. Election inspectors at the site are also ready to help you.

back-to-top

"If I Register To Vote, Will I Be Called For Jury Duty?"

Jurors are drawn from lists of state taxpayers and licensed drivers as well as from voter registration rolls. Do not give up your right to vote in the hope that you will avoid jury duty. Chances are, if you pay taxes or drive a car, you will still be called. Besides, serving on a jury is a privilege, one that permits you to personally stand up for all Americans' right to a trial by a jury of their peers.

back-to-top

"Can A Felony Conviction Affect My Right To Vote?"

You may not register or vote, if you have been convicted of a felony and for that felony:

  • You are currently incarcerated; or
  • You are under parole supervision.

You may register and vote if you were convicted of a felony and for that felony:

  • You were sentenced to probation;
  • You were not sentenced to incarceration or your prison sentence was suspended;
  • You have served your maximum prison sentence; in which case you are able to re-register to vote
  • You were on parole and then discharged, in which case you are able to re-register to vote
  • You have received a pardon

back-to-top

"Can A Misdemeanor Conviction Affect My Right to Vote?"

You may register and vote, even from jail, if you have been convicted of only a misdemeanor.

The same rules apply whether you were convicted in a New York court, another state’s court or a federal court.

You do not need to provide any documentation about your criminal record in order to register and vote.

back-to-top


Poll Site Locator &
Sample Ballots